Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
01. The hot canary
02. Because of rain
03. Mixed emotions
04. Smooth sailing
05. I don't want to take a chance
06. There never was a baby like my baby
07. Give a little, get a little
08. Airmail special
09. A guy is a guy
10. Gee but I'm glad to know you love me
11. Goody goody
12. You'll have to swing it
13. Angel eyes
14. Ella's contribution to the blues
15. Early autumn
16. Walking by the river
17. Preview
Ella Fitzgerald
1951-1952 Decca Recordings
Jazz Factory
Cat No:
Price £7.99
These superb 1951-52 Decca recordings capture the great Ella Fitzgerald at the beginning of her solo career. On this intriguing selection of popular and jazz standards, she is backed by three very different Big Band / Orchestras : Sy Oliver, Ray Brown & Leroy Kirkland  -  with personnel including:  Taft Jordan, Al Grey, Hank Jones, Bill Doggett, George Duvivier, Bill Holcomb, Jimmy Crawford,  and the Ray Charles Singers.

She had toured with Dizzy Gillespie's big band in the mid 40's, and adopted bop as part of her style, and started including exciting scat-filled romps in her set. New hit recordings followed and her stature as a major jazz singer rose as a result. For a time (1947-1953) she was married to bassist Ray Brown and used his trio as a backup group.  After appearing in the film Pete Kelly's Blues in 1955, Fitzgerald signed with Norman Granz's Verve label and over the next few years she would record her famous Songbooks series.
Reviews For 1951-1952 Decca Recordings
Jazz Journal - Bruce Crowther
Pleasant and effective assembly of material.
Also Available By - Ella Fitzgerald