Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
01 Jingle Bells 2:25
02 Santa Claus Is Coming To Town 2:20
03 Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas 2:59
04 What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve? 3:35
05 Sleigh Ride 2:58
06 The Christmas Song 3:03
07 Good Morning Blues 3:20
08 Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow! 2:45
09 Winter Wonderland 2:18
10 Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer 2:56
11 Frosty The Snowman 2:15
12 White Christmas 3:05
13 The Secret Of Christmas 2:48
14 Medley: We Three Kings Of Orient Are / O Little Town Of Bethlehem 3:38
15 Christmas Island 2:21
16 The Christmas Song [Version 2] 3:43
17 White Christmas [Version 2] 3:48
18 Frosty The Snowman [Version 2] 2:12
19 I’ve Got My Love To Keep Me Warm 2:56
20 Santa Claus Got Stuck In My Chimney 3:05

Total Time: 58:29
Ella Fitzgerald
Wishes You a Swinging Christmas
Phoenix Jazz
Cat No:
Price £7.99
Sorry, this item is temporarily out of stock. If you would like to be informed when in stock please click here
• The complete classic album ‘Ella Wishes You a Swinging Christmas’ (1960 originally on Verve), the first of Ella two Christmas albums (the second in 1967).

• To the original twelve LP tracks we have added 8 further Christmas songs from the same sessions, as well as isolated related tracks from earlier dates.

• Personnel : Ella Fitzgerald, vocals on all tracks, with orchestras conducted & arranged by Frank Devol, Russell Garcia or Paul Weston. On track 20: Charlie Shavers (tp), Hank Jones (p), John Collins (g), Ray Brown (b), Charlie Smith (d), New York, September 26, 1950.

• “This is a delightful Christmas jazz reissue featuring Ella Fitzgerald in prime form....Fitzgerald clearly had a fun time...These concise performances (all under four minutes) are charming, making this one of the better Christmas jazz sets.” (Scott Yanow - All Music Guide)

• Total Time: 58:29 mins. - 20 tracks - Includes 8-page booklet.

Reviews For Wishes You a Swinging Christmas
Jazz Journal - Sally Evans-Darby
Lyrics are improvised with Ella's trademark joie de vivre, and the sound throughout is bouncing, frothy and sweet without becoming overly so. ****
Jazz Journal - Sally Evans-Darby
She's backed throughout by a series of first-class orchestras whose cymbal-crashing and bell-jingling whips up just the right amount of feverish fun. ****
Also Available By - Ella Fitzgerald