Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
1. Ya Ya
2. Give Me You
3. Do-Re-Mi
4. People Gonna Talk
5. Chin Chin
6. Mess Around
7. Eenie Meenie Mini Mo
8. One and One
9. Yum Yum
10. Ixie Dixie Pixie Pie
11. Behind the 8-Ball
12. Lover of Love
13. Lottie Mo
14. Give Me Your Love
15. Rock
16. Lonely Evening
17. Lil Liza Jane
18. Great Googa Mooga
19. Hoodlum Joe
20. When I Met My Baby
21. Someday
22. You’re Breaking Me U
Lee Dorsey
Ya! Ya! (+ Bonus Tracks)
Hoodoo Records
Cat No:
Price £9.49
• An early funk pioneer who did not find success in the music world until in his late 30’s, the great Lee Dorsey was symbolic of Louisiana music with a sound as distinctive as Fats Domino’s. He epitomized the loose, easygoing charm of New Orleans R&B perhaps more than any other artist of the 1960s. His gritty, playful voice was a perfect match for the idiom. This essential release presents Dorsey’s classic debut album, Ya! Ya!. It was originally issued in 1961 by the small Fury label and was produced by the always fascinating Allen Toussaint and the legendary Bobby Robinson. The LP contains highlights from the Crescent City scene like the album title and #1 hit, “Ya Ya”, plus other joyful R&B cuts such as “Eenie Meenie Mini Mo,” “Yum Yum,” “Chin Chin,” and “Give Me You,” to name just a few. These tracks feature Dorsey’s sly, playful, and demonstrative vocals, plus accompaniment by saxophonist Harold Battiste and his band, which features some of New Orleans’ finest session cats. In addition to the original long play, this remastered collector’s CD contains 11 bonus tracks, consisting of overlooked sides from the same period. LEE
Also Available By - Lee Dorsey