Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
1. In Search of the One
2. Jamaican Sunrise
3. Song for Velader
4. Moorish
5. Perseverance
6. Within Her Smile
7. Mystic Destiny
8. One for Johnson
9. Come On, Home!
10. A Tear In Elmina
Phil Ranelin
Wide Hive Records
Cat No:
Price £11.99
"Ranelin and his ensemble are completely committed on Perseverance where disciplined technical craft and expansive, melodic, rhythmic, and harmonic possibilities are presented as a musical language. Combined together with his requisite empathy and subtlety, this album defines Ranelin as a true jazz master." [Thom Jurek, All Music Guide]

Jazz Legend Phil Ranelin returns to form with his most intriguing album to date, 'Perseverance.' Phil is united for the first time with Henry Franklin, known for solo releases on cult classic label Blackjazz Records and as a bassist for Hugh Masekela, and Big Black who's solo albums Uni and sideman work roots stretch from Dizzi, to Feddie, and Randy Weston.

Joining them are a cast of immensely talented young artists, including saxophonist Kamasi Washington, Drummer Tony Austin and Pianist Mahesh Balasooriya.

The sounds of the music are indicative of Phil's naturally soulful compositions with strong rhythmic undercurrent and eerily beautiful horn arrangements.
Also Available By - Phil Ranelin