Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
1. Deep Purple (Featuring Jimmy Hamilton (Clarinet)
2. All Of Me (Featuring Johnny Hodges (Alto Sax)
3. What Else Can You Do With A Drum (Featuring Ray Nance (Vocal)
4. Harlem Air Shaft (Featuring Clark Terry (Trumpet)
5. Such Sweet Thunder (With Spoken Introduction By Duke Ellington)
6.Stompy Jones
7. Things Ain’t What They Used To Be
8. Hi Fi Fo Fum (Featuring Sam Woodyard (Drums)
9. El Gato (Featuring William ‘Cat’ Anderson, Clark Terry, Harold ‘shorty’ Baker (Trumpets)
Duke Ellington
Live in Paris
Sounds of Yesteryear
Cat No:
Price £7.99
Sorry, this item is temporarily out of stock. If you would like to be informed when in stock please click here
Any performance by the incomparable Duke Ellington Orchestra usually defies adequate description. With this album you can aurally travel back in time to the Nineteen Fifties when the orchestra was in its hey day, at that time Duke Ellington had already scored most of his major compositions creating a considerable legacy for all lovers of jazz and the big band sound and it is after years of refining his craft that the sounds on this album are presented. Here is none of the formal stiffness of the recording studio but the orchestra powerfully confronting a large enthusiastic audience. On this album the fruits of such an interplay are obvious. The album features some of Duke Ellington’s Finest Instrumentalists, among them Johnny Hodges, William ‘Cat’ Anderson, Harold ‘Shorty’ Baker, Clark Terry and Sam Woodyard and the selection of tracks should offer something to all connoisseurs of this wonderful form of music.
Also Available By - Duke Ellington