Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
1. Take The A Train
2. Moon Mist
3. Blutopia
4. New World A-Comin'
5. Midrif
6. Nobody Knows The Trouble I'Ve Seen
7. Creole Love Call
8. Mood Indigo
9. Suddenly It Jumped
10. Chant For Fdr
11. Frustration
12. Poor Pilgrim Of Sorrow
13. I'm Beginning To See The Light
14. Creole Love Call
15. The Perfume Suite
16. Moon Mist
17. Love
18. Any Bonds Today?
19. Violence
20. Take The "A" Train
21. Dancers In Love
22. Don'T Get Around Much Anymore
23. Sophistication
24. Caravan
25. Bond Promo
26. I Ain'T Got Nothin' But The Blues
27. It Can'T Be Wrong
28. Subtle Slough
29. Johnny Come Lately
30. Passion Flower
31. Take The A Train
32. Hayfoot, Strawfoot
33. Take The "A" Train
34. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
35. Wait For Me Mary
36. Moon Mist
37. Take The "A" Train
38. Bond Promo
39. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
Duke Ellington
Treasury shows Vol. 1 (2CD)
Ellington Treasury
Cat No:
Price £12.99
This is Vol. 1 of a long series of releases of the complete Treasury Broadcasts from the mid-forties. Every second month a new double CD will be issued on a special label re-created for the occasion: D.E.T.S. for The Duke Ellington Treasury Shows (48 LPs were issued on a private pressing back in the 60s). This is your only chance to get the complete Treasury series. Start collecting them now! Its very lucky that these precious, well-recorded radio broadcasts have survived since the mid-40s. They represent an important yet elusive period in the evolution of the U.S. as a whole and jazz in particular. On this double-CD compilation one gets a wonderful insight into how Duke Ellington, the patriot, and Duke Ellington, the famous band-leader, dealt with these complex times. As always, Ellington follows his heart his own personal and musical convictions and, as usual, the result is well-worth hearing. Throughout these five broadcasts there are numerous brilliant contributions by Dukes sidemen, particularly Rex Stewart, Jimmy Hamilton, Joe Nanton, Johnny Hodges, Lawrence Brown, and singers Al Hibbler and Kay Davis.
Also Available By - Duke Ellington