Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
1. Star Spangled Banner
2. Introduction by Duke Ellington
3. Introduction By Duke Ellington (Dec 10, 1943)
4. Ring Dem Bells
5. Take The "A" Train
6. A Duke Ellington Medley
7. Moon Mist
8. Jack The Bear
9. Tea For Two
10. Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me
11. Honeysuckle Rose
12. Summertime
13. Star Dust
14. Cotton Tail
15. "C" Jam Blues
16. Black and Tan Fantasy
17. West Indian Influence
18. Rockin' In Rhythm
19. Lighter Attitude
20. Sentimental Lady
21. New World A-Coming
22. Trumpet In Spades
23. Floor Show
24. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
25. Don't Get Around Much Any More
Duke Ellington
Live at Carnegie Hall 1943 (2CD)
Cat No:
Price £17.99
Sorry, this item is temporarily out of stock. If you would like to be informed when in stock please click here
The Duke Ellington Orchestra which performed the eagerly-awaited Second Carnegie Hall Concert on Dec. 11, 1943, was a band which consisted both of famous old alumni and exciting new talent like clarinetest Jimmy Hamilton, bassist Alvin Raglin and vocalist Al Hibbler. Because of the recording ban during World War II, doing live concerts became vital to maintain both the band’s popularity and some form of income. Add to this the fact that Carnegie Hall was the most prestigious venue of them all, and its easy to understand why the Ellington Orchestra was determined to play its best that evening, performing old standards and Ellington favorites. Among the many high points from this marvelous concert (which fills two CD’s) are excerpts from “Black, Brown and Beige”, Al Hibbler’s vocal rendition of “Do Nothing ‘Til You Hear From Me”, Rex Stewart’s showpiece “Trumpet In Spades” and, above all, the first performance ever of “New World A-Coming”.
Also Available By - Duke Ellington