Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
1. Take The A Train
2. Take The A Train
3. Caravan
4. Blue Belles Of Harlem
5. Fickle Fling
6. I'M Beginning To See The Light
7. Ellington Bond Promo
8. Ellington Bond Promo
9. Kissing Bug
10. Can'T You Read Between The Lines
11. Honeysuckle Rose
12. Trio In Blue
13. Day Dream
14. Ellington Bond Promo
15. One O'Clock Jump
16. Mood To Be Wooed
17. Ellington Bond Promo
18. Take The A Train
19. Take The A Train
20. The Perfume Suite
21. Introduction
22. Ellington Bond Promo
23. Medley
24. Hollywood Hangover
25. Riff Staccato
26. I Don't Mind
27. Carnegie Blues
28. Ring Dem Bells
29. I'm Beginning To See The Light
30. Things Ain'T What They Used To Be
31. Old King Dooji
32. Take The A Train
33. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
34. Fancy Dan
35. Take The A Train
36. Walkin' With My Honey
37. Clementine
38. Go Away Blues
39. I'Ll Buy That Dream
40. Homesick, That'S All
41. Come To Baby, Do!
42. I'D Di It All Over Again
43. Harlem Airshaft
44. Everything But You
Duke Ellington
Treasury shows Vol. 7 (2CD)
Ellington Treasury
Cat No:
Price £12.99
The three sessions here were recorded in N.Y.C. in 1945 – 2 live sessions (Apollo Theatre and Zanzibar Club) plus one studio session (Radio City Music Hall). The 143 minutes (44 tunes) of music on this double-CD have never been released before. The repertoire is classic Ellington/Strayhorn material – including one Strayhorn medley and two suites (”Trio In Blue” and ”Perfume Suite”) - plus several tunes which were never recorded commercially. Recorded at the end of WWII, the purpose of these three programs – besides providing wonderful music – was to promote the sale of U.S. Treasury bonds to help the war effort. A major attribute of this double-CD is the inclusion of several tunes that Ellington never recorded commercially, like ”Fickle Fling”, ”Hollywood Hangover” and ”I’d Do It All Over Again”.

The great musicianship and enthusiasm of Ellington’s orchestra includes countless fine solos – especially with Johnny Hodges and Rex Stewart – and feat
Also Available By - Duke Ellington