Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
1. Solid Old Man
2. Singin' In The Rain
3. Three Cent Stomp
4. Tulip Or Turnip
5. Take The "A" Train
6. Hy' A Sue
7. "C" Jam Blues
8. Passion Flower
9. Clementine
10. Just-A-Sittin' And A-Rockin'
11. One O'Clock Jump
12. Unbooted Character
13. Paradise
14. How You Sound
15. It's Monday Everyday
16. Caravan
17. Cotton Tail
Duke Ellington
Hollywood empire 1949
Cat No:
Price £11.99
This is the first-time release of live radio broadcasts with the Duke Ellington Orchestra from the Hollywood Empire club in Los Angeles in 1949. This 71-minute/17-tune CD was recorded during a transitional period in Ellington's career, when the swing big bands were dying out and bebop was on the rise, and several of the tunes reflect the new bebop trend. Almost half of the compositions performed on this CD were never again performed by Duke Ellington. On this CD the Ellington Orchestra features Billy Strayhorn, Al Hibbler, Ben Webster, Ray Nance, Harry Carney and Johnny Hodges. As is usually the case with Duke Ellington, this CD deserves repeated listening in order to solve the "mystery" of Ellington's wonderful, complex musical ideas.
Also Available By - Duke Ellington