Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
1. East St, Louis Toodle-Oo
2. Me And You
3. Grievin'
4. Little Posey
5. My Last Goodbye
6. The Gal From Joe's
7. Tootin Through The Roof
8. "C" Jam Blues
9. Day In, Day Out
10. Merry-Go-Round
11. East St, Louis Toodle-Oo
12. Ko Ko
13. Blue Goose
14. So Far, So Good
15. Cotton Tail
16. Concerto For Cootie
17. Jack The Bear
18. Boy Meets Horn
19. The Sergeant Was Shy
20. Never No Lament
21. It's Glory
22. The Mooche
23. The Sheik Of Araby
24. Sepia Panorama
25. Ko Ko
26. There Shall Be No Night
27. Pussy Willow
28. Chatterbox
29. Mood Indigo
30. Harlem Airshaft
31. Ferryboat Serenade
32. Warm Valley
33. Stompy Jones
34. Chloe
35. Bojangles
36. On The Air
37. Rumpus In Richmond
38. Chaser
39. The Sidewalks Of New York
40. The Flaming Sword
41. Never No Lament
42. Caravan
43. Clarinet Lament
44. Slap Happy
45. Sepia Panorama
46. Boy Meets Horn
47. Way Down Yonder In New Orleans
48. Oh Babe, Maybe Someday
49. Five O'Clock Whistle
50. Fanfare
51. Medley
52. Rockin' In Rhythm
53. Sophisticated Lady
54. Cotton Tail
55. Whispering Grass
56. Conga Brava
57. I Never Felt This Way Before
58. Across The Track Blues
59. Honeysuckle Rose
60. Wham
61. Star Dust
62. Rose Of The Rio Grande
63. St. Louis Blues
64. Warm Valley
65. God Bless America
66. Take The "A" Train
67. Hayfoot Strawfoot
68. It Can't Be Wrong
69. What Am I Here For?
70. Mainstem A.K.A. Altitude
71. Could It Be You?
72. Goin' Up
73. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
74. Nevada
75. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
76. Take The "A" Train
77. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
78. Mainstem A.K.A. Altitude
79. I Don't Want Anybody At All
80. Johnny Come Lately
81. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
82. Moon Mist
83. You'll Never Know
84. Tonight I Shall Sleep
85. I Don't Know What Kind Of Blues I Got
86. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
87. Moon Mist
88. Introduction D
89. I Wonder Why
90. Goin' Up
91. Star Spangled Banner
92. Introduction By Duke Ellington (Dec 10, 1943)
93. Take The "A" Train
94. Moon Mist
95. Tea For Two
96. Honeysuckle Rose
97. Star Dust
98. West Indian Influence
99. Lighter Attitude
100. New World A-Coming
101. Floor Show
102. Don't Get Around Much Any More
103. Introduction By Duke Ellington
104. Ring Dem Bells
105. Medley
106. Jack The Bear
107. Do Nothing 'Till You Hear From Me
108. Summertime
109. Cotton Tail
110. Black And Tan Fantasy
111. Rockin' In Rhythm
112. Sentimental Lady
113. Trumpet In Spades
114. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
115. Announcer And Duke Ellington Introduction
116. G.I. Jive
117. Amor, Amor
118. Frankie And Johnny
119. Take The "A" Train
120. Suddenly It Jumped
121. Laura
122. Kissing Bug
123. Stompy Jones
124. Solid Old Man
125. Carnegie Blues
126. In A Mellotone
127. Fancy Dan
128. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
129. Black And Tan Fantasy
130. Mood To Be Wooed
131. Frantic Fantasy
132. The "C" Jam Blues
133. Air Conditioned Jungle
134. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
135. Rockin' In Rhythm
136. Take The "A" Train
137. The Blues
138. Sono
139. Solid Old Man
140. Singin' In The Rain
141. Three Cent Stomp
142. Tulip Or Turnip
143. Take The "A" Train
144. Hy' A Sue
145. "C" Jam Blues
146. Passion Flower
147. Clementine
148. Just-A-Sittin' And A-Rockin'
149. One O'Clock Jump
150. Unbooted Character
151. Paradise
152. How You Sound
153. It's Monday Everyday
154. Caravan
155. Cotton Tail
Duke Ellington
The Duke box (8CD)
Cat No:
Price £42.99
The Duke Box includes more than eight hours of music from what many consider the greatest decade (1940s) of the greatest orchestra in the history of jazz.

This 8CD box set captures Duke Ellington and his musicians, including Johnny Hodges, Ben Webster, Lawrence Brown, ""Tricky"" Sam Nanton, Harry Carney, Rex Stewart, Barney Bigard and Jimmy Blanton, live in dance halls, night clubs, concert halls and radio stations.

We are lucky indeed that these slice-of-life documents survive, or were made in the first place, such as the unique Fargo dance date (what was captured that long night is a veritable treasure trove of music) and hearing it chronologically places this grand music in a very special and illuminating perspective. All your favourite Ellington standards (including Sophisticated Lady, Mood Indigo, ""C"" Jam Blues, Don't Get Around Much Anymore and Do Nothing 'Til You Hear From Me) are here as well as some rare tracks that even seasoned Ellingtonians will encounter for the first time.

The accompanying 40 page illustrated booklet includes liner notes by Dan Morgenstern and photographs by Herman Leonard and William Gottlieb.
Also Available By - Duke Ellington