Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
1. Jungle Triangle #1
2. Come Sunday
3. Will You Be There / 99% Won’t Do
4. Ain’t But No One
5. David Danced
6. Heritage (My Mother, My Father and Love) #1
7. After Bird Jungle
8. Montage
9. My People (Soap Box)
10. The Blues Ain’t
11. Blues At Sundown
12. Walking And Singing The Blues
13. Working Blues
14. My Man Sends Me
15. Jail blues
16. I Love My Lovin’ Lover
17. Jungle Triangle #2
18. King Fit the Battle Of Alabam
19. King
20. Purple People
21. What Colour Is Virtue
22. Purple People – Music
23. Piano Blues Ouverture
24. Strange Feeling
25. Heritage (My Mother, My Father and Love) #2
Duke Ellington
My People - The Complete Show
Cat No:
Price £11.99
• Duke Ellington’s ‘My People’ opened in Chicago August 16, 1963. Duke Ellington did everything. He wrote the music, the words, directed it and did the orchestrations. There was not enough money involved to hire Duke Ellington’s orchestra. Instead they hired a 16 piece orchestra with Jimmy Jones as the pianist.

• A recording of the show was made on August 20, 21 and 28 supervised by Billy Strayhorn and Duke Ellington. The CD contains for the first time the complete show.

• In ’My People’, Ellington decided to emphasize the positive achievements of black people in American life, rather than protest against injustice. It had only one minute of social protest written into its script. ‘My People’ is not political. It has social significance, but the accent was on celebration and entertainment.
Also Available By - Duke Ellington