Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
1. Limbo Jazz 5:17
2. Mood Indigo 5:57
3. Ray Charles’ Place 4:05
4. Wanderlust 5:01
5. You Dirty Dog 4:20
6. Self Portrait (Of The Bean. 3:54
7. The Jeep Is Jumpin’ 4:51
8. The Ricitic 5:54
9. Solitude 5:51
10. The Star-Crossed Lovers 5:09*
11. Just Squeeze Me 5:06*
12. Perdido 4:42*
13. Satin Doll 11:11*
14. Take The “A” Train 7:34*
Duke Ellington
Meets Coleman Hawkins + 6 bonus tracks
Essential Jazz Classics
Cat No:
Price £7.99
Sorry, this item is temporarily out of stock. If you would like to be informed when in stock please click here
• Despite their long term positions at the top of the jazz tree this was the only recorded encounter between these two legendary musicians, so the 1962 session which produced the LP “Duke Ellington Meets Coleman Hawkins” proved to be a historic occasion.

• A delightful set during which the old masters enjoy a friendly and entertaining joust.

• Original album with 5 bonus tracks from Coleman Hawkins including the saxophonist’s rarely heard only existing reading of “The Star-Crossed Lovers” from the Ellington/Strayhorn Shakespearian suite “Such Sweet Thunder”
Reviews For Meets Coleman Hawkins + 6 bonus tracks
Jazzwise - Peter Vacher
'Perdido' with Stewart showing off and splendid Hopkins, Bauer, Shaw and Cole rhythm section. Historic said the pundits at the time, and they were right. Get this one now. *****
Jazz Journal - Bruce Crowther
Superbly swinging music by an exceptional octet, outstanding performances of more Ellingtonia. ****
Also Available By - Duke Ellington