Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
1. Yèkèrmo sèw
2. Mètché dershé
3. Kasalèfkut hulu
4. Tezeta
5. Yègellé tezeta
6. Munayé
7. Gubèlyé
8. Asmarina
9. Yèkatit
10. Nètsanèt
11. Tezetayé antchi lidj
12. Sabyé
13. Ené alantchi alnorem
14. Dèwèl
Ethiopiques Vol. 4 (1969-1974)
Cat No:
Price £10.99
Sorry, this item is temporarily out of stock. If you would like to be informed when in stock please click here
Released in 1998, Ethiopiques vol.4 contains 14 inventive instrumentals blending jazz, soul, latin, and rhythm & blues with elements of traditional Ethiopian music. These extended Afro-funk grooves were recorded in 1972 and 1974 under the leadership of keyboard player Mulatu Astatqe - a highly influential, innovative and idiosyncratic arranger-musician whose fundamental jazz approach was out of step with Ethiopian music trends at the time. Mysterious, soulful, insistent riffs, side-lined only by impressive solos, emanate from saxes (especially Fekade Made Meskel), electric piano and wah-wah guitar. These recordings were originally released on two LPs on the Amha Label. The cover photo shows Astaqué jamming with Duke Ellington around 1972.  There has been increased interest in this incredible, highly-praised CD recently as a result of Mulatu Astatqe’s soundtrack music for the new Jim Jarmusch film “Broken Flowers” (starring Bill Murray, Julie Delpy, Sharon Stone, Jessica Lange & Tilda Swinton), on which he also uses three tracks from this Ethiopiques 4 release.
Reviews For Ethiopiques Vol. 4 (1969-1974)
Sunday Telegraph - Ben Thompson
Superb collection of Ethiopian Jazz…exquisite record
Also Available By - Various
  • Accordion in Americas 1949-1962 (3CD)
  • Afghanistan - Music During the Civil War…
  • Afghanistan - Traditional Music of Herat
  • Afghanistan - Female Musicians of Herat
  • Madagascar/Music of Coast & Tablelands (2CD)…
  • Angola 90's
  • Music of the Ovimbundu (Angola)
  • Rare Sounds from Addis Abeba
  • Madagascar : Musique du Hira Gasy