Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
01. Easy To Love 2:27
02. If Iím Lucky 3:14
03. Old Devil Moon 2:36
04. Tip Toe Gently 2:38
05. You Made Me Care 2:08
06. Last Time For Love 3:04
07. Too Much In Love To Care 2:23
08. Misery 3:50
09. Just One Of Those Things 2:39
10. Sometimes Iím Happy 2:33
11. Something To Live For 3:11
12. Love Is Here To Stay 2:39
13. I Canít Get Started 3:17
14. This Will Make You Laugh 3:22
15. Supper Time 2:59
16. My One And Only Love 3:09
17. Yardbird Suite 1:56
18. Give Me The Simple Life 2:18
19. Iíll Remember April 2:37
20. You Took Advantage Of Me 2:35
Carmen Mcrae
First Sessions
Fresh Sound
Cat No:
Price £10.99
Sorry, this item is temporarily out of stock. If you would like to be informed when in stock please click here
These are the first recordings of one of the greatest jazz singers of all time: Carmen McRae. On these distinctive Stardust/Bethlehem and Decca sessions, recorded in New York City between 1953 and 1955, Carmen found the right space, freedom and apt accompaniment for her beautiful singing.

Relaxed and unpretentious, she impresses with the freshness and clarity of her sound, the lucidity of her diction, the instrumental-like flow and logic of her phrasing, and her fine beat. On a first rate set worth hearing over and over again, all the musicians involved perform with taste and skill in a textbook example of the art of jazz singing.

Featuring Carmen McRae (vcl, p) with : Mat Mathewsí Quintet, Tony Scottís Quartet & Dick Katzí Quartet - including musicians : Herbie Mann (fl, ts), Billy Strayhorn (p), Mundell Lowe (g), Wendell Marshall (b), Kenny Clarke (d), Percy Heath (b), & Osie Johnson (d).
Also Available By - Carmen Mcrae