Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
1. Avison - Concerto in A
2. Purcell - Chacony in G minor for Strings
3. Jenkins - Pastorale and Allegro
4. Walton - two pieces for Strings from Henry V
5. Lewis - Rosa Mundi
6. Dankworth - Mariposas
7. Darke - Meditations on Brother James’s Air
8. Brooks - To my Love (Adagio for Strings)
9. Elgar - Salut d’Amour
10. Bridge - A Christmas Dance

1. Smith - Overture to The Fairies
2. Thornley Head - Aria
3. Mudge - Concerto No.5
4. Ireland - Cavitina, Bagatelle
5. Delius - Légende
6. Wilson - Tros an Treys
7. Jenkins - Thames Reflections, Tarte au Citron
Various Composers
Set In Silver - Chamber Ensemble of London (2
EM Records
Cat No:
Price £16.99
Em Records is pleased to announce a double-disc set of English music for strings, ranging from the seventeenth to the twenty-first centuries and including world première performances of works by contemporary composers. EMRCD032-033 – Set in Silver provides a fine introduction to the glories of English string music, both well-loved and less-known. The Chamber Ensemble of London, directed by Peter Fisher (violin), perform the Chacony in G minor by Henry Purcell, Concertos by Charles Avison and Richard Mudge and an Overture by Handel’s colleague John Christopher Smith, alongside works for string ensemble by Elgar, Delius, Frank Bridge, John Ireland and William Walton and the original version for strings of the Meditation on Brother James’s Air by Harold Darke, much-loved as an organ piece. The recording includes evidence of the talent of the late John Dankworth as a composer: Mariposas was written specially for Peter Fisher’s Wigmore Hall début in 1996 and was later orchestrated for the Chamber Ensemble of London.

World Premiere Recordings*

Chamber Ensemble of London conductor Peter Fisher
Also Available By - Various Composers