Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
1 Autumn Walk
2 AD’s Blues
3 Marj
4 Six Bits
5 The Thing
6 Tonight
7 Our Tune
8 It’s a Long Way
9 Debut in Blues
10 Karachi
11 The Gentle Princess
12 When Sunny Gets Blue
13 Thieves’ Carnival
14 Not Too Cool
15 Who Knows
16 Travelog
Gene Shaw Quintet & Sextet
Break Through And Debut In Blues
Fresh Sound
Cat No:
Price £10.99
• Gene Shaw first arrived in the jazz world as Clarence Shaw, one of the members in the Charlie Mingus Jazz Workshop from 1955 to 1957. Mingus, in his liner notes for “Tijuana Moods” commented on the excellent work of his trumpeter. He wasn’t one to give praise easily, so when he singled out Shaw thus, people started paying close attention. The gist of the notes was that if the record had been issued in 1957—when it was recorded—instead of in 1962, the trumpeter would have been by then as famous as “any of our current so-called jazz players.”

• Despite this, Shaw stopped playing and quit the scene for five years. He showed up again with the belated 1962 release of “Tijuana Moods”, this time in Chicago as Gene Shaw, leading a hard-bop quintet. About his decision he simply said: “Mingus ended it; Mingus began it again”.

• His lyrical and relaxed style was almost a final refinement of the hard-bop trumpet idiom, and the unique qualities Mingus saw in this free spirit were given an intriguing showcase in these two albums, “Break Through” and “Debut in Blues”.