Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
1. Wabash Blues (Cliffie Stone & His Barn Dance Band) (Capitol 40083) 1947
2. John and Marsha (Capitol F1356, UK CL13465) 1951
3. Ragtime Dan (Capitol F1356, UK CL13465) 1951
4. I've Got You Under My Skin (Capitol F1711, UK CL13595) 1951
5. That's My Boy (Capitol F1711, UK CL13595) 1951
6. Maggie (Capitol F1962, UK CL13747) 1952
7. Tele-Vee-Shun (Capitol F1962) 1952
8. Try (Capitol F2029, UK CL13747) 1952
9. Pass The Udder Udder (Capitol F2029) 1952
10. Abe Snake For President (Capitol F2125, UK CL13830) 1952
11. Ba-Ba Ball And Chain (Capitol F2125, UK CL13830) 1952
12. The World Is Waiting For The Sunrise (Capitol F2279, UK CL13846) 1952
13. The Boogie Woogie Banjo Man From Birmingham (Capitol F2279, UK CL13846) 1952
14. St. George and The Dragonet (Capitol F2596, UK CL14025) 1953
15. Little Blue Riding Hood (Capitol F2596, UK CL14025) 1953
16. Christmas Dragnet Pt. 1 (Stan Freberg & Daws Butler) (Capitol F2671, UK CL14019) 1953
17. Christmas Dragnet Pt. 2 (Stan Freberg & Daws Butler) (Capitol F2671, UK CL14019) 1953
18. C'est Si Bon ( It's So Good ) (Capitol F2677, UK CL14187) 1953
19. A Dear John and Marsha Letter (Capitol F2677) 1953
20. Person To Pearson (Capitol F2838, UK CL14139) 1954
21. Point Of Order (Capitol F2838, UK CL14139) 1954
22. Sh-Boom (Stan Freberg & The Toads) (Capitol F2929, UK CL14187/CL15122) 1954
23. Widescreen Mama Blues (Capitol F2929) 1954
24. The Honeyearthers (Capitol F3138, UK CL14316) 1955

1. The Lone Psychiatrist (Capitol F3138, UK CL14316) 1955
2. The Yellow Rose Of Texas (Capitol F3249, UK CL14509) 1955
3. Rock Around Stephen Foster (Capitol F3249, UK CL14509) 1955
4. Nuttin' For Christmas (Capitol F3280) 1955
5. The Night Before Christmas (Capitol F3280) 1955
6. The Great Pretender (Capitol F3396, UK CL14571) 1956
7. The Quest For Bridey Hammerschlaugen (Capitol F3396, UK CL14571) 1956
8. Heartbreak Hotel (Capitol F3480, UK CL14608) 1956
9. Rock Island Line (Capitol F3480, UK CL14608) 1956
10. Banana Boat (Day-O) (Capitol F3687, UK CL14712) 1957
11. Tele-Vee-Shun (Capitol F3687, UK CL14712) 1957
12. Wun'erful, Wun'erful Side Uh-one (Capitol F3815) 1957
13. Wun'erful, Wun'erful Side Uh-two (Capitol F3815) 1957
14. Gary, Indiana (Capitol F3892) 1958
15. Ya Got Trouble (Capitol F3892) 1958
16. Green Chri$tma$ (Stan Freberg & Daws Butler) (Capitol F4097, UK CL14966) 1958
17. The Meaning Of Christmas Stan Freberg & Jud Conlon Chorale (Capitol F4097, UK CL14966) 1958
18. The Old Payola Roll Blues (Like The Beginning) (Stan Freberg feat. Jesse White) (Capitol F4329, UK CL15122) 1959
19. The Old Payola Roll Blues (Like The End) (Stan Freberg feat. Jesse White) (Capitol F4329) 1959
20. Comments For Our Time Pt. 1 (Capitol F4433) 1960
21. Comments For Our Time Pt. 2 (Capitol F4433) 1960
Stan Freberg
The Single Collection 1947-60 (2CD)
Cat No:
Price £9.99
• Stan Freberg was a comedian, broadcaster, writer and actor who was best-known for his satirical radio shows and recordings during the 1950s and ‘60s.

• Starting his career providing the voices for cartoon animations at Warner Bros., he graduated in the late ‘40s to being a screen actor in satirical roles.

• He appeared on a 1947 release by Cliffie Stone’s Barn Dance band before starting recording for Capitol under his own name in 1951, specialising in doing parodies of current popular songs and styles, and had nearly twenty charted hits during the ‘50s – quite a feat for comedy material which was out of the pop mainstream.

• This 45-track 2-CD set comprises the A & B sides of singles which were released during the period, and naturally features all his hits, including the No. 1 “St. George and The Dragonet”, along with other Top 20 classics like “Little Blue Riding Hood” and the marvellous satirical takes on “The Yellow Rose Of Texas”, “Sh-Boom”, and “Cry”.

• This was a fascinating and highly individual strand of the recording business of the era, when satirical comedy and social commentary of all kinds became popular during a time of social and musical upheaval, and this collection is an entertaining memento of one its most distinctive practitioners.