Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
1. Another Man Done Gone
2. Wayward Gal
3. Don’t Get Trouble In Your Mind
4. Black Eye Blues
5. Georgie Buck
6. Earl King
7. Jack O’Diamonds
8. Short Life Of Trouble
9. Po’ Lazarus
10. Ricketts’s Hornpipe
11. Cornbread and Butter Beans
12. Bye Bye Policeman
13. Real Old Mountain Dew
14. Sittin’ On Top Of The World
15. Banjo Dreams/Jalidong
16. Gambia
Carolina Chocolate Drops
Cat No:
Price £12.99
Sorry, this item is temporarily out of stock. If you would like to be informed when in stock please click here
• The Carolina Chocolate Drops are a group of young African-American stringband musicians that have come to together to play the rich ‘piedmont’ tradition of fiddle and banjo music in North and South Carolina. Rhiannon Giddens and Justin Robinson both hail from the green hills of the North Carolina Piedmont while Dom Flemons is native to sunny Arizona.

• They have a 12-date tour of the UK & Ireland in February and March 2008, with a strong press & media campaign.

• Armed with banjos, fiddles, guitars, jugs, kazoos, spoons and various other percussive "instruments," the CCD revisit the jug-band and Black string-band music of the ‘20s and ‘30s with the zest of the most energetic hip-hoppers and the acumen of old-time music pioneers.

• CCD have been under the tutelage of Joe Thompson, said to be the last black traditional string band player, of Mebane, North Carolina.

• Although they have diverse musical backgrounds, they are proud to carry on the tradition of black musicians like Libba Cotten, Odell and Nate Thompson, Dink Roberts, John Snipes, & Emp White, and countless others from the black and white communities of the past.
Reviews For Heritage
Songlines - Nigel Williamson
Conjures an era somewhere between the civil war and the civil rights movement when poor blacks and whites shared a hand-to-mouth rural existence. ***