Call us on: +44 (0)1380 728000
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Track Listing
1. Loco
2. Laughing Hyenas
3. Carpe Afternoon
4. Always Remember You
5. La Dolce Vita
6. Beautiful Land
7. I Knew Your Mother
8. Wake Up
9. If This Is Love
10. C'est La Vie, Mon Cherie
11. It's Possible
Loco Ironico
Loco Ironico
Loco Ironico
Cat No:
Price £10.99
• Released on 8th July 2016 via Discovery Records, ‘Carpe Afternoon’ is the debut album by Loco Ironico, the brainchild of British singer-songwriter Joe Cang and Italian musician and composer Matteo Saggese. Eleven songs of heartache, shipwreck and weight loss that draw on New Orleans Jazz and Blues, Cuban Tango and Caribbean Calypso. Think Dr John, Tom Waits, Randy Newman and Buena Vista all rolled-up in a style of their own. Joe says of ‘Carpe Afternoon’, “This is music for those with a taste for the ironic and laconic and for those who prefer whisky to tonic” The album’s recording sessions were engineered by the legendary Jerry Boys (The Beatles, Buena Vista Social Club, Shakira, Ry Cooder) and features Danny Cummings (Elton John, Mark Knopfler) on drums & percussion and Davide Mantovanni (Fela Kuti, Baaba Nana Vasconcelos) on double bass. They are joined by legendary guitarists Phil Manzanera (Roxy Music, Pink Floyd), Tony Remy (The Crusaders, Annie Lenox) and John Parricelli (Andy Shepard, Goldfrapp), singers Sarah Jane Morris (The Communards, Pere Ubu) and Peppe Servillo (Paolo Conte, Avion Travel), trumpeter Steve Sidwell (Stevie Wonder, Sting), bassist Dario Deidda (Benny Golson Gil Evans Orchestra) and saxophonist Ben Castle (Radiohead, Gregory Porter).